Release Blitz & Review – Toward The Sound of Chaos by Carmen Jenner

toward the sound of chaos banner

toward the sound of chaos now live

A heart-wrenching new military romance from USA TODAY bestselling author Carmen Jenner.

Available exclusively on Amazon and KU

Amazon US:

Amazon UK:

Amazon CA:

Amazon AU:

towards the sound of chaos cover



Jake Tucker is broken. At twenty-two, he went into the Marine Corps a naïve, troubled youth. Nine years and four tours later, Jake finds himself back on US soil, though his mind remains firmly planted in the sands of Afghanistan with the men he left behind.

Wounded, chewed up and spat out by war, Jake has only his dog, Nuke, PTSD, and survivor’s guilt to keep him company. He’s lived every day for nine years wondering when it will be his last, but there’s little comfort in the fact that he’s still standing when his platoon isn’t.

Ellie Mason doesn’t have time for broken. She’s too busy trying to put food on the table. And keeping up with the demands of her autistic son, Spencer, is sometimes like fighting behind enemy lines. As if navigating the minefields of single parenthood isn’t enough, Ellie finds herself drawn to the quiet Marine who’s just as lonely as she is. But she’s loved damaged men before, and it left her wounded.

Set against the picturesque backdrop of Fairhope, Alabama, Ellie and Jake find themselves running toward the sound of chaos.

Love is war.

Only the strong survive, and surrender is inevitable.

toward the sound of chaos use


5 Stars

Every time Carmen releases a new book, I tell myself that i can’t possibly love this one more than the last and every time i am left eating my words. This book is different to Carmen’s previous and it almost seems not enough to say that i loved it, loved it, loved it.

Jake Tucker, ex-marine has shut himself off from life. After 4 tours, he returned from Afghanistan a broken man left with horrific scars, PTSD and the guilt of being the only survivor in his platoon. Nightmares and flashbacks plague his life with only the slightest thing needed to trigger them and the only comfort he finds is in the bottom of a bottle, numbing the pain if only for a short time, and in his service dog Nuke

Life is a constant struggle for single mum Ellie Mason. She faces many challenges on a daily basis that having an autistic son presents and with no family support, having run from the only home she knew. Spencer fills her life with so much joy but to not touch him, comfort him and with a life full of routine and any deviation a potential trigger for a melt down, she feels isolated and lonely.

Jake and Ellie are drawn to each other, possibly seeing a bit of themselves reflected in the other. Ellie sparks something in Jake that he had thought died in Afghanistan. He sees in this feisty, no nonsense woman the possibilities of something outside of the constant hell he lives in. Ellie’s priority is Spencer, who instantly takes to Jake and despite the overwhelming feelings she has for him, she is scared and doesn’t have the energy to take on another broken man. Once Jake comes to terms with his feelings he is determined to prove to Ellie that he wants to protect them both and despite her numerous attempts to push him away, once he has set his sights on her, he will do anything to make her believe it.

Jake has stolen my heart. I felt his terror, his pain and his constant struggle as it seeped through the pages of this beautifully written book and into my soul. I wanted to grab hold of this broken man and hold him tight, taking all the terror blighting his life away. I thought Carmen dealt incredibly well with the PTSD and the constant feeling of guilt that he experienced and the flashbacks to what happened in Afghanistan only helped to enhance the story further.

Towards the Sound of Chaos is a story of recovery and acceptance and shows us that out of devastation can come hope and especially love. I was immersed in this book to the very last page, lingering with me hours after i have finished and i cannot recommend it highly enough.


toward the sound of chaos teaser 6


I ease her down on her feet, before the bed and take a step back. I want this, God do I want this, but I’m terrified. Elle’s eyes roam over me and she takes in a deep breath, and I won’t lie—it hurts like hell. I don’t want pity, and I don’t want the woman I care about looking at me like a monster just sprouted from my back. She reaches out a hand and trails her fingertips over my scarred flesh, feeling the hard, ugly edges. I flinch a little, and she pulls away as if she’s been burned.

“Did I hurt you?” she whispers.

“Angel, it hurts just looking at you.”

She smiles and continues her exploration of my body, openin’ old wounds with every scar she touches, and yet it’s as if she’s tenderly sewing them shut at the same time. I haven’t felt the touch of a woman for a very long time, and never again did I think I would, especially not one as perfect and kind-hearted as this.

“What did they do to you, Jake?” Her eyes are bright with tears, and I grab her hands and hold them flat to my chest.

“I don’t want your pity, Elle.”

“You think that’s why I’m here?” she says, staring up at me with those incredible eyes. “You think that’s all this is between us?”

“I thought about it.” I nod. “I can’t see much other reason that a woman like you would want someone like me. I’m a freak and a drunk, and you? You’re so goddamn beautiful it hurts.”

toward the sound of chaos banner 2

About the Author

carmen jenner

Carmen Jenner is a thirty-something, USA TODAY and international bestselling author.

Her dark romance, KICK (Savage Saints MC #1), won Best Dark Romance Read in the Reader’s Choice Awards at RWDU 2015.

A tattoo enthusiast, hardcore lipstick addict and zombie fangirl, Carmen lives on the sunny north coast of New South Wales, Australia, where she spends her time indoors wrangling her two wildling children, a dog named Pikelet, and her very own man-child.

A romantic at heart, Carmen strives to give her characters the HEA they deserve, but not before ruining their lives completely first … because what’s a happily ever after without a little torture?

Stalk Her: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Published titles to date:

Welcome to Sugartown (Sugartown Series #1)

Enjoy Your Stay (Sugartown Series #2)

Greetings from Sugartown (Sugartown Series #3)

Now Leaving Sugartown (Sugartown Series #4)

REVELRY (Taint #1)

KICK (Savage Saints MC #1)

TANK (Savage Saints MC #2)

Finding North


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s