R.S. Grey’s Chasing Spring Release Blitz & Reviews! 

Title: Chasing Spring
Author: R.S. Grey
Release Date: Feb 1, 2016
Find on Goodreads
I thought I’d left Blackwater, Texas behind for good. I didn’t belong in the small town, but my dad wouldn’t listen. He dragged me back home in his beat-up truck and dropped a bomb along the way: Chase Matthews was moving in with us. He was the golden boy of my high school, my former best friend, and the last person I wanted sleeping across the hall. His presence was too great a reminder of the ghosts I was trying to forget.
I didn’t ask for a hero. I don’t want to be saved.
To me, Lilah Calloway meant late nights sneakin’ out, moonlit hair, and sparklers in July. She was my best friend until the day she left and I’d assumed Blackwater had seen the last of her. Then, like a tempest, she rolled back into town for the final half of senior year. The chopped hair and dark devil-may-care attitude warned most people away, but I knew if I fought hard enough, I could find the lost girl.
I didn’t want to be her hero. Some girls don’t need to be saved.
img_2104-13
4.5 Emotionally Heartbreaking Stars!!!

Lilah Calloway moves back in with her dad to her hometown after being away for almost a year and a half because of some pretty heartbreaking events happening.
Chase Matthews was Lilah’s best friend growing up but after some drastic events that soon changed over night, she no longer deemed herself worthy of being in Chase’s life and shut herself off completely from him and their friendship.
When Lilah’s moves back home she soon comes to learn that Chase will be living with her and her dad until they both graduate high school, which is the last thing she wants or needs in her life.
Chase seems glad to have Lilah back in his life and is determined to prove to her that they can go back to how things were, if not more between the two of them, after everything that happened between their families.
I have to say that this read is very different from what R.S. Grey usually writes but I loved this story so much, my heart was in pieces for Chase and Lilah reading this book. Their journey was one I enjoyed immensely through all the ups and downs and the turmoil and heartbreak, I just adored this book so much! If you have read any of R.S. Grey’s books before but wasn’t quite sure if you’d like this, trust me you will love it! Rachel has wrote such a beautiful heartfelt story, and I’m sure you will all fall in love with Lilah and Chase just as much as I did! The only thing I have to say is that even though this is meant to be a standalone book, I feel that there could be so much more told for their story and would LOVE if Rachel wrote a follow up for them!

img_2102
Rachel writes romantic comedies so this book is something new for me to read from this author. I’ll admit that I went into this book slightly afraid what she would do to my emotions. The cover is striking and I will be getting a copy of this book to put on my shelf because I have so much love for this book.

Chase and Lilah have a history together. Lilah hasn’t been in Blackwater for a long time but she finds herself moving back in with her father. Chase Matthews is now living with her also and for me from the very start, I knew something had happened between their parents namely their mothers.

I loved the instant connection of Lilah with Harvey and indirectly with Chase as he refused to allow her to shut him out. Chase knows that Lilah is a big part of his life and he wants her to come back to him emotionally. Lilah however is affected by her past, she doesn’t hide that but she is also in denial about what happened with their mothers. There is a lot of mystery in this book but the scene where all is revealed is so powerful. It hit me so hard that I spent a few moments just allowing the words to sink in.

This book is not just about two people finding each other, it is about going through so much pain and learning to forgive. This book is not a typical romance, it makes you feel. It drags you in and your emotions will never be the same again. I have loved Rachel’s book since the moment I discovered the duet and ever since then I have just been so enamoured with her style of writing. This book is nothing like her other books but it is a such a worthy read! This is the second top book of January for me. It takes a lot to make me feel so damn emotional but this book did that for me.

Chase stole my heart. He loves Lilah so fiercely, he spends so much time trying to help other people that at times, he forgot to look after himself but that is why I love this book. He is the spring that Lilah is chasing. The title is perfect in that sense, the dialogue, the story, the emotions and the characters just meld together and come out with a book that is destined to touch people’s hearts.

I’ve written a mini essay so far! I won’t spoil this book but please believe me when I say this is not a typical book that you may just pick up but it is a read you HAVE to pick up. This book is everything, just go and get a copy, read and enjoy every single moment. Savour it, you can’t read it for the first time again!!

5 EPIC STARS!

I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way, I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things… everyday.
I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors include Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things “funny”. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.
Leave a Reply

